What are the laws governing marijuana in Alabama?
While some states in the country have legalized marijuana or decriminalized small amounts of the drug, Alabama is not yet one of those states. Possessing any marijuana, even just a small amount for personal use, is a crime in Alabama. Selling any amount of marijuana is also a crime in this state.
What are the charges and penalties for possession of marijuana?
Possessing a small amount of marijuana for personal use is a considered a Class A misdemeanor. You can face up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $6,000. If you are found to be in possession of an amount that is considered too large for personal use, you might face a Class C felony that can lead to one to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000.
What are the charges and penalties for the sale of marijuana?
Any form of distributing marijuana, including selling or delivering, is considered a Class B felony. A conviction can result in two to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $30,000. If the distribution was to a minor, the classification is raised to a Class A felony, which carries a sentence of 10 to 99 years in prison or life. It can also mean a fine of up to $60,000. An additional sentence of five years in prison is added to a conviction that involves distributing marijuana within three miles of a school or university. That added prison time doesn’t qualify for probation.
All marijuana charges in Alabama are considered very serious. It is vital that people facing these charges learn about their defense options right away to give them and their counsel time to build the defense.
Source: FindLaw, “Alabama Marijuana Laws,” accessed Aug. 20, 2015