What are the domestic violence classifications in Alabama?
Domestic violence charges in Alabama are serious charges that carry the possibility of very serious penalties. There are three classifications of domestic violence. These are domestic violence in the first degree, domestic violence in the second degree, and domestic violence in the first degree. Each charge has different points that must be considered.
What relationship must be present for domestic violence charges?
A person can be charged with this crime if he or she has a child in common with the victim, if the victim is the person’s parent, if the victim is a former or current spouse, is engaged or dating the victim, or if he or she shares a home with the victim. In all cases, the sentence requirement would be doubled if the person who is accused of domestic violence violated a protection order.
What is domestic violence in the first degree?
Domestic violence in the first degree is a Class A felony. This means that there is the possibility of minimum sentence of 1 year in prison without being able to be released on parole, good time, or probation.
What is domestic violence in the second degree?
Domestic violence in the second degree is classified as a Class B felony. There is a minimum prison sentence of 6 months upon conviction. This can’t be reduced.
What is domestic violence in the third degree?
Domestic violence in the third degree is classified as a Class A misdemeanor. A conviction will result in a minimum of 48 hours in jail.
Because imprisonment is mandatory for all convictions, a defense is crucial. This should be as firm of a defense as possible.
Source: FindLaw, “Alabama Code – Article 7: Domestic Violence in 1ST, 2ND, AND 3RD Degrees,” accessed April 07, 2016